top of page

Spring 2019 Review


I started with this blog mainly because I had to keep a record of my internship, but also with the intention to document other aspects of my life because I'm finally reaching a point in my academic career (and in my life as a whole, if we're being honest) where everything is finally coming together. I've had so many amazing opportunities this year and I want to document them so that I have something to look back on in the future. So without further adieu, here's a review of this past Spring.

 

Sculpture I

Honestly, I decided to take Sculpture because I couldn't get into Ceramics, but it ended up being a good thing for me. I came out of it with a pretty decent knowledge of power tools and a better appreciation for materials and spacial awareness, which are important concerns for any artist.

I thought that having taken other studio classes, I could handle the time commitment, but wow. Sculpture is a constant struggle to obtain materials and understand the process of making. It's a different experience every time, whereas with painting, you always use roughly the same materials and techniques.

I'm grateful that I've been able to experiment with new materials while still bringing elements of painting into my projects. The one pictured to the left, for example was a box that I made to discuss Utopia. Behind each door are cards that give permission to enrich your life in very doable ways: skipping without feeling guilty, taking care of yourself first, etc. I'll be posting photos of my other projects on the site soon.

 

Theater Lab

I built this! Well, not just me, but me and a team of maybe forty other people. Theater Lab is a class where I get to help out building the sets for all the shows that Lewis & Clark puts on. The main stage production was Stupid F*cking Bird, a modern adaptation of Anton Chekhov's The Seagull.

There was a time when I thought I might apply my art degree to a job in theater. This class was great, but let me tell you, theater and carpentry are not my jam. Building sets requires a lot of power tools and exact measurements and facing my fear of heights (which are really not my strengths).

 

Sound and Sense

Music appreciation isn't something I'm normally attracted to, but I took this class as a prerequisite for study abroad. (I have big news about study abroad, so I'll be doing a separate post on that soon). As I suspected, this class was a whole lot of listening to instrumentals and opera that all sound the same to me, so it was hard for me to stay motivated. Except for when I was *forced* to go see The 1975 in concert to write a report on. I guess that part was okay. (;

The final project was to write and perform an original song for the class. I've been dreaming of (and dreading) performing my own music for maybe six years now? And of course, no amount of encouragement from my friends could get me on stage. Apparently I just needed the fear of failing a major class assignment to persuade me. Here's the song that came out of it:

 

Nina Olsson Art Conservation

Last but not least, a big thank you to Nina for taking me under her wing and introducing me to conservation. You guys already know that story. (;


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram
  • SoundCloud
  • YouTube
bottom of page