top of page

The end of an era... or is it?


Well, this is it folks, it's the end of an era. I've officially finished my second internship at Blue Line Arts.

I had my exit interview at the Blue Line on Wednesday. I'll be honest, I was so scared? I always have this overwhelming feeling that I'm not doing enough or not getting through tasks fast enough or not understanding what I'm supposed to do. I think I just need to realize that if I'm doing my best, I'm probably doing enough and all this failure stuff is IN MY HEAD. More often than not, I'm doing as well as anyone else could.

It turns out that the Co-Directors were actually really happy with the new call for artist and blog pages I made for the website. The blog page isn't live yet because we need to start writing content for it first, but here's the new call to artist page:

*I can't get the whole thing in a screenshot so you're going to have to click on the link for the full page.

Blog posts are a much more efficient way for us to manage areas of our site that need constant updating. Instead of adding our prospectuses and applications as separate links, we can write up an artist call in blog format that includes all the information that artists need in one place. Instead of updating a word document, making a PDF, re-uploading the PDF to the website, and re-inserting it into the call page, we can simply edit the blog post.

Wordpress also lets you sort posts by category and then automatically populate posts of a certain category into your chosen page. With this capability, we can easily use one post on multiple different pages and move them from one section to another. I definitely went through a huge learning curve trying to understand the language of Wordpress, so I'm sure none of that makes sense to you guys, but hey, I'll throw it out there.

Anyways, I am so proud of how much my little gallery has grown since I first started and I'm glad that I've been a part of its improvement. I will truly miss all of the people I've worked with and the artists I've met there. But honestly I don't think you can keep me away because now I know what a great resource the Blue is for young artists, I will definitely be back to take classes and see all the cool upcoming shows. You should too!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Instagram
  • SoundCloud
  • YouTube
bottom of page